Best Bets This Week


Marian Paroo (Claire Anovick) and Harold Hill (Erik Bell)

There is  “Trouble in River City”  when Easton Middle School presents the Tony Award winning (five of them, including Best Musical), Grammy winning (Best Cast Album) show The Music Man this weekend and next in the Easton High Auditorium. The plot: con man Harold Hill poses as a boys’ band organizer and leader and sells band instruments and uniforms to naive townsfolk before skipping town with the cash. Librarian and piano teacher Marian Paroo sees through him but falls in love with him – and he with her, despite the risks. Grab the kids for a fun and quality family evening.

Looking ahead – Monday,  the Easton branch of Talbot County Free Library presents “An Evening of Jazz Guitar” featuring the Bob Johnson Trio. The trio will be performing selections from the Great American Songbook in this hour – long program.

And on Tuesday, February 5, the Maritime Museum presents Elizabeth Beckley of Preservation Maryland, who has spent her professional personal life, “, on, and under old Chesapeake houses.” The talk is part of the museum’s This Old Chesapeake House winter speaker series.

Friday, February 1 – 7:30 pm: The Music Man  Tickets are $10  adults/ $5  children, can be  purchased in advance from Easton Middle School, Crackerjacks, Little Rascals, Old Mill Deli or by contacting 410-829-9811. Shows 2, 8 & 9 at 7:30 pm and February 3 at 2:00 pm.

Monday, February 4 – 6:30 pm: Evening of Jazz Guitar with the Bob Johnson Trio   Free.   Talbot County Free Library, Easton, MD 21601

Tuesday, February 5- 1 pm: This Old Chesapeake House Winter Speaker Series  Space limited and pre-registration is required for all events. Call 410-745-4941.  $6 members, $8 non-members. Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, St Michaels, MD


About Andy Goddard

Write a Letter to the Editor on this Article

We encourage readers to offer their point of view on this article by submitting the following form. Editing is sometimes necessary and is done at the discretion of the editorial staff.