Final Wednesday Night Race and Season Results


At the end of a lackluster sailing season that saw only 16 races completed, the Wednesday Night Races finished the year on modest air that took most of the fleet more than an hour to run a three mile course on the Miles River.

In the PHRF A Fleet, the PF Flyers sailed Phone to a first, followed by Jeff Staley and Ostinato with the Rossworks crew on Viper 640 coming in third.

Jeff Pevey piloted Ful Dek over the line for a first in the B Fleet with Bob Larsen on Blew Bird coming in second and Si Boettner taking a third on Cabaret.

The Stars had 14 boats on the line and Patrick Penwell took first on Rebel Yell. Bob Bradford came in second on Maddie and John Jenkins took third at the helm of Jade.

The preliminary full season standings calculated Thursday gave the A Fleet first place to the PF Flyers sailing Phone and finishing a low-point total of 18. They squeezed past Team Rx on Javelin by one point. Third place went to Jeff Staley on Ostinato with the next closest point total of 45.

In the B Fleet, top honors went to Bob Larson who drove Blew Bird into first place with a 17 point total. Ful Dek, with Jeff Pevey at the helm, came in second with 21 points and perennial third-place finisher Norman Brown finished in the money again this year on Pagan with 42 points.

Bob Flower won the Star season on Lil Buddy, John Jenkins on Jade was second and Patrick Penwell sailed Rebel Yell into third place. The three Star captains all finished within 11 point of each other and well ahead of the rest of the fleet.

Write a Letter to the Editor on this Article

We encourage readers to offer their point of view on this article by submitting the following form. Editing is sometimes necessary and is done at the discretion of the editorial staff.
We're glad you're enjoying The Talbot Spy.

Sign up for the the free email blast to see what's new in the Spy. It's delivered right to your inbox at 3PM sharp.

Sign up here.