Tilghman After School Kids (TASK) Ready for New School Year


The Tilghman After School Kids (TASK) program is looking forward to even more fun and enrichment in the upcoming school year. We have new classes planned, and will be welcoming new staff members.

Our Afterschool Director position is changing to an almost-full-time role that includes on-site leadership each day at Tilghman Elementary School and extensive off-site planning and collaboration with local partners. We are so fortunate that each person we talked with about joining our team this fall brings unique talents and skills along with their love for the Tilghman community.

We are excited that Brandy Frampton will be our Afterschool Director, using her education background and counseling degree, along with her experience designing enrichment programs for kids, to expand our afterschool offerings. We are delighted that Ellie Fletcher will return as our Afterschool Assistant Director, in an increased role that includes coordinating additional important community programs like CarePacks, BoxTops, and more. We are happy to have Cheryl Dayton and Jamie Haddaway return as dedicated and enthusiastic instructors, and we welcome Rachael Freeman as a new instructor. We are grateful for this team’s creativity, kindness, and commitment to our community.

With increased enrollment at Tilghman Elementary, and our continued emphasis on healthy living, environmental science, creativity, and empathy, we know this coming year of Tilghman After School Kids will be filled with excitement, learning, and fun.

The Tilghman Area Youth Association (TAYA) thanks all those who support our afterschool program through generous donations, and we appreciate our many grant funders, including Talbot Family Network, the United Fund of Talbot County, Mid-Shore Community Foundation, Women & Girls Fund, Talbot County Council, Bryan Brothers Foundation, Christmas in St. Michaels, Talbot County Arts Council, Talbot County Health Department, and Talbot Optimists. Without their (and your!) support, our programs would not be possible.

TAYA also thanks our dedicated board members and welcomes new additions. Ty Russ, Leah Schultz, and William Smith join Bonnie James (President), Jay Shotel (Vice-President), Angie Asmussen, Katie Fox, Heather Gottleib, Doris Motovidlak, and Leigh Ann Schaefer in providing TAYA with excellent and insightful leadership. Building on the strong foundation created by Ginny Cornwell, TAYA’s founder and Director Emeritus, TAYA continues to provide high-quality programs for the children and families in our community.

For any questions about TASK and TAYA, please contact Ann Farley, TAYA Executive Director, at tayadirector@gmail.com or 410-253-0967. Visit us on the web at www.tilghmanyouth.org or on Facebook.

Write a Letter to the Editor on this Article

We encourage readers to offer their point of view on this article by submitting the following form. Editing is sometimes necessary and is done at the discretion of the editorial staff.
We're glad you're enjoying The Talbot Spy.

Sign up for the the free email blast to see what's new in the Spy. It's delivered right to your inbox at 3PM sharp.

Sign up here.