The St. Michaels Museum opens for its 2018 season on Saturday, May 5 at 10am. The opening exhibit is “Business in St. Michaels, 1870-1900”. The exhibit contains photographs and memorabilia that illustrate the commercial activities of the town including shipbuilding and the seafood industry. During this important period of growth,the old St. Michaels brick yard and the flour mill were built. Two landmark buildings were also built during this time frame. In 1870 the Town Hall building opened on Talbot Street, followed by the founding of the Talbot Bank in 1890.
To celebrate the opening, the Board of Directors of the museum is hosting a reception in the Teetotem Building beginning at 4pm. Curator Kate Fones will lead a tour of the new exhibit and the expanded Frederick Douglass exhibit. Refreshments will be served, and the public is invited to attend free of charge.
The museum will be open Fridays from 1:00 to 4:00, Saturdays from 10:00 to 4:00 and Sundays from 1:00 to 4:00 until the museum closes on October 28. Admission is $3 for adults and $1 for children and youth 6-17 years of age. The museum entrance and main rooms are handicapped accessible.
The mission of the museum is “to celebrate and promote the unique history of St. Michaels and the surrounding area through preservation and education”. For more information about walking tours and upcoming events including the annual 4th of July celebration, visit the museum’s website including the Museum Shop, at www.stmichaelsmuseum.org.