Character Counts Awards Clark Scholarships


Sade Miller received the Clark Scholarship from CCMS Board of Trustees member, Beth Terhorst.

Character Counts Mid Shore (CCMS) awarded three A. James Clark Character Counts Citizenship Scholarships to recent high school graduates in Talbot, Caroline and Dorchester counties.

The Clark Scholarship is based on the quality of volunteer work a graduating senior has performed throughout their middle and high school years.  Over twenty scholarships were submitted this year.

Sade A. Miller of North Caroline High School’s Class of 2018 has 540 hours of volunteering throughout the community including Compass Regional Hospice, Martinak State Park and Character Counts.She is planning to attend Potomac State College of West Virginia University this fall majoring in social work.

Morgan L. Biskach of Cambridge South Dorchester High School, Class of 2018, has volunteered 805 hours throughout the community including teaching swimming to youth, peer-tutoring, Sunday school, Baywater Animal Rescue.  She is planning to attend University of Maryland – College Park this fall.

Grant W. Foster of Easton High School Class of 2018 has volunteered 632.5 hours throughout the community including Habitat for Humanity Choptank ReStore, Talbot Humane, Oxford Kids Camps, and Character Counts.   Grant will be attending Salisbury University in the fall.

“Once again, Character Counts Mid Shore is honored to award the A. James Clark Scholarships in memory of Mr. Clark, a CCMS Founding Board Member.  He served his communities well and we are grateful to the Clark Charitable Foundation for the opportunity to recognize these outstanding students with funding for higher education,” states Susan Luby, Executive Director of CCMS.

For more information about CCHS, go to or call 410-819-0386.

Write a Letter to the Editor on this Article

We encourage readers to offer their point of view on this article by submitting the following form. Editing is sometimes necessary and is done at the discretion of the editorial staff.